Poll

How do you assess the performance of our website?
excellent
good
satisfactory
bad
View result

Results

excellent
20 (63%)
good
9 (28%)
satisfactory
1 (3%)
bad
2 (6%)
Polls archive

The Upper Don Folklore

The Upper Don folklore is opulent. It is constituted of tales, legends, bylinas, sayings, proverbs, stories of real facts from the past, songs.

The plots of the tales are typical for southern Russia: “Geese-Swans”, “How a Cock Overcame the Tsar”, “Ivan the Prince and Grey Wolf”, “Princess-Frog” and others. Cossack interpretations of the Russian tales are interesting with their dialect peculiarities, witty language. The bylinas make the listeners sympathize with “the Don Cossack Iliya Muromets”, as well as the Cossacks call Alyosha Popovich “a Don Cossack”.

The legends are still told on the Upper Don nowadays, whereas bylina performers are practically impossible to find. Their songs and texts are kept in the five-volume edition by A.M. Listopadov “The Songs of the Don Cossacks”. The book, a bibliographical rarity now, contains about 1200 Cossack songs with their noted records.

The Cossack song was born five centuries ago. Among the oldest is the song about Ermak being elected ataman. It was the XVI century. A performance of this song is a kind of examination for skilful “playing” of authentic Cossack songs performing them in the way they primordially sounded.

The “up-river” performance style is a local variety of the Don Cossack song. In the published record about the expedition of 1902-1903 Listopadov quoted the opinion of the folk performers, Goncharov and Makarov, from stanitsas of Vyoshenskaya and Elanskaya, that the performance of Vyoshenskaya is much more genial in comparison with singing on the Lower Don, – “there they sing harshly and coarsely”.

Slow, drawling songs are sung without a musical accompaniment. More authentic is a performance by a group of five – seven singers. Musical instruments (accordion, balalaika, violin) were used by Cossacks at dancing parties of young people. The dances were those brought by Cossacks from foreign campaigns: polka, karapet, krakowiak, two-step, gallop, padespañ, quadrille and other dances “from Europe”.

At weddings, outings, dinner parties they danced “kazachok”, “barynya”, “kamarinskiy”, “gipsy”. “Quick” Cossack songs “to dance” are performed without musical instrument accompaniment, but to hand claps, yells in time and out of time, and to tambourine.

“Quick” Cossack songs are much more rhythmic and emotional than dance songs “to accordion” in the middle part of Russia. They express a dashing boldness, a skill to set off the members to fun.

In singing Cossacks value men’s voices, while women’s voices are typical of “family”, “maiden”, lyric, wedding songs and in a round dance. But in cases of men’s absence women can take the men’s role in singing upon themselves and perform the same “marching” and combatant songs.

The Upper Don Cossacks are famous for polyphonic singing. It seems to have two “layers”, low and top, contrasting in function. There are no bass voices. Men’s voices sound vibrant for the song to flow easily and freely. A “dishkant”, a high, supporting voice, “soars over the “middle” register. Often a “diskant” has no words, only vowels “a-o-e” are vocalized.

Many songs begin with a recitative. A man’s voice is the first to introduce, it determines a key pitch of the song and its tempo. The rest of the performers, improvising, each in his way, make their singing variant. Usually it is a four-part singing.

There is a specificity in Cossack singing a tune and words in drawling songs. There are breaks off and word repetitions, broad singing of syllables, vowel insertions in the middle of the words, frequent interjections and exclamations. These cause the difficulty for fresh listeners to perceive the singing.

But the folk songs were not intended for an audience or public. They were performed in a friendly circle, for pleasure of the singers themselves.

The songs of the Don Cossacks – historic, marching, combatant, everyday, “to dance”, “to round dance”, wedding, lyric, laments are cherished by the folk group “Zarnitsa” of the State M.A. Sholokhov Museum-Reserve.

Опрос

Какие строки романа М. Шолохова «Тихий Дон» вспоминаются Вам чаще?
Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
305 (40%)
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
64 (8%)
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
167 (22%)
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
89 (12%)
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
73 (10%)
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
64 (8%)
Архив опросов

Фольклор Верхнего Дона

Фольклор казаков Верхнего Дона богат. Это сказки, предания, былины, пословицы и поговорки, рассказы-были о житейских случаях из прошлого, песни. 

Сюжеты сказок характерны для юга России: «Гуси-лебеди», «Как кочеток царя победил», «Иван-царевич и серый волк», «Царевна-лягушка» и другие. Казачьи интерпретации русских сказок интересны диалектными особенностями, остротой языка в сказках бытовых, «житейских». В былинах слушателям импонировал «донской казак Илья Муромец», Алёшу Поповича тоже кличут «дончаком».

Предания на Верхнем Дону рассказывают и в наши дни, а вот исполнителей былин встретить практически невозможно. Их распевы и тексты сохранились в пятитомном собрании А.М. Листопадова «Песни донских казаков». В сборнике, который является сегодня библиографической редкостью, около 1200 казачьих песен с нотной записью их распевов. 

Казачья песня родилась пять веков назад. В числе самых старинных – песня о том, как Ермака выбирали атаманом. Это ХVI век. Исполнение этой песни – своеобразный экзамен на умение «играть» настоящие казачьи песни, исполнять их в первозданном звучании.

 «Верховая» манера исполнения – местная разновидность донской казачьей песни. В печатном отчёте об экспедиции 1902-1903 годов Листопадов привёл мнение народных исполнителей из Вёшенской и Еланской станиц – Гончарова и Макарова, что вёшенское исполнение гораздо мягче, по сравнению с тем, как поют на Нижнем Дону, – «там жёстко поют и грубо».

Протяжные, «тяговые» песни поются без музыкального сопровождения. Наиболее достоверно звучит ансамбль из пяти-семи исполнителей. Музыкальные инструменты (гармонь, балалайка, скрипка) казаки использовали на «балáх» – танцевальных вечеринках молодёжи. Гармонист и скрипач уже назывались «оркестром». Танцевали то, что казаки привозили из заграничной службы: «польку», «карапет», «краковяк», «тустеп», «галоп», «падэспань», «кадриль» и другие танцы «из Европы».

На свадьбах и гулянках, на «беседах» (вечеринках с застольем) отплясывали «Казачка», «Барыню», «Камаринского», «Цыганку». Казачьи песни «под пляс», «частые» поются без музыкальных инструментов, только под хлопки, выкрики в такт и из-под такта и под бубен. 

Казачьи «частые», «круговые» гораздо ритмичнее, эмоциональнее плясовых песен «под гармонь» в средней полосе России. В них - лихая удаль, умение зажечь весельем окружающих. 

В пении у казаков ценится мужской голос. Женское пение характерно для бытовых, «семейных», «девичьих» лирических, свадебных песен и в «карагоде»-хороводе. 

Но при отсутствии мужчин, женщины могут брать на себя мужскую роль в пении и исполнять те же «служивские», «походние» и строевые песни.

«Верховые» казаки славятся многоголосным пением. Оно как бы из двух «пластов», нижнего и верхнего, контрастных по функции. «Басов» как таковых нет. Мужские голоса поют звонко, чтобы песня лилась легко, привольно. Над «средним» регистром голосов парит «дúшкант», высокий голос – «подголосок». Нередко «дишканят» без слов, вокализируя на одни гласные – «а-о-э-е».

Часто песня начинается с речитатива – «проговора». Вступающий первым мужской голос определяет тональную высоту песни и её темп. Остальные импровизационно, каждый по-своему, ведут вариант песенного напева. Обычно это четырёхголосие.

У казаков есть специфика в отношении напева и слов в протяжных песнях. Обрывы и повторение слов, широкие распевы слогов, вставки гласных в середину слова, частые междометия и восклицания. Это трудно для восприятия непосвящённым слушателям.

Но ведь народные песни не предназначались «залу», зрителям. Их пели своим кругом, для собственного удовольствия. 

Песни донских казаков – исторические, «служивские», походные, бытовые, «под пляс», «под карагод», свадебные, лирические, плачи – бережно хранит фольклорный ансамбль «Зарница» музея-заповедника М.А. Шолохова.