Poll

Which topic do you think is under represented on our site? Leave your comments and suggestions in the section “Comments and Suggestions”
Museum Collection
Exhibitions
Museum Events
Museum – to Children
Don Cossacks
Natural Monuments
Information for Tourists
View result

Results

Museum Collection
1 (11%)
Exhibitions
1 (11%)
Museum Events
1 (11%)
Museum – to Children
1 (11%)
Don Cossacks
2 (22%)
Natural Monuments
1 (11%)
Information for Tourists
2 (22%)
Polls archive

Nature Monuments

M.A. Sholokhov was fond of fishing and hunting. His homeland nature surrounding gave rise to the ideas and feelings that were later embodied in the lines of his creations.

The country of Sholokhov nowadays is still a living illustration of the writer’s books, it exists and gives rise to new plots. The places related to the events depicted in the “Tales from the Don”, in the novels “And Quiet Flows the Don”, “Virgin Soil Upturned” are included in the cherished landscape area of the Museum-Reserve. There are six nature monuments: the Giant Oak, Antipovskiy pine forest, Sholokhov lakes, waterside piece of wood Ostrovnoye, woodland of Paniki, Olshaniki (Chernya). Their flora and fauna are very diverse numbering over 1500 plant species and variations, 269 mushroom species, over 2700 animal species. There are found a great number of species registered in the Red List of Threatened Species of the Russian Federation and of the Rostov Region.

The writer’s favourite place is the woodland Ostrovnoye. There is clean water, lots of fish and waterfowl. Sholokhov often came here to get inspiration, and on the  pages of his novel “And Quiet Flows the Don” we can recognize Kalmytskiy Brod (ford), Lake Rassokhovo, Burnt Forest, Alyoshkin Copse, Devichiya Polyana (maiden’s glade) which are located in the area of the woodland. Here Mikhail Alexandrovich went fishing and hunting, he often brought here his guests to admire the beauty of the sight. The place was visited by the world-known writers Charles Snow, Martti Larni, the first world spaceman Yuriy Gagarin and many other famous people.

One of the writer’s most favourite nooks of nature was a picturesque deep-water Lake Staroye (Old). Here Sholokhov often made fishing outings for his friends and guests. The writer achieved all the flood-land lakes to be included into the system of the cherished natural areas. The people call the lakes “Sholokhov’s”. These lakes are a habitat of the endemic of Europe – the Russian desman registered in the Red List of Threatened Species of Russia and of the Rostov Region.

Mikhail Alexandrovich was fond of contemplating the River Don, the boundless upper regions from the 40-metre height of Lebyazhiy Yar lying 12 kms eastward of Vyoshenskaya. This is a majestic bend of the Don riverbed and a rearing arenaceous precipice over it – a steep bank. In the distance behind the river there are flood land forests and the White Hills – cretaceous steep slopes. Lebyazhiy Yar was visited by numerous prominent guests of the writer. In 2005, President of the Russian Federation V. Putin visited Vyoshenskaya for the 100th anniversary of M.A. Sholokhov. From that place he admired the quiet Don and the surroundings.

A unique thing is the Vyoshenskiy Giant Oak aged over 400. It is a real Don forest “ataman”, a witness of the historic events since the reign of Ivan the Terrible. It can be surrounded by no less than four adult men holding by their hands. Near it there are two more oak-trees growing, all they being the remains of an ancient arena oak grove.

Another remarkable place is the powerful spring Otrog, which does not freeze even in winter hard frost. On Epiphany Day and Whitsunday, Cossacks walk in a religions procession with the cross and banners to the spring.

Each of the Upper Don sights is beautiful in its way. On visiting Sholokhov country you will see a spring tulip steppe, silent barrows, boundless vastness opening up from the high precipices, a magnificent stream of the Father-Don. You will discover for yourselves the unique Open Air Novel, the museum, which exposition is the Don country nature itself, which M.A. Sholokhov glorified in his works.

Опрос

Какие строки романа М. Шолохова «Тихий Дон» вспоминаются Вам чаще?
Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
397 (39%)
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
87 (9%)
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
224 (22%)
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
120 (12%)
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
94 (9%)
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
88 (9%)
Архив опросов

Памятники природы

М.А. Шолохов любил бывать на охоте и рыбалке. Мысли и чувства, возникавшие при общении с природой родного края, превращались потом в неповторимые строки его произведений. 

Шолоховский край и сегодня служит живой иллюстрацией книг Шолохова, продолжает жить и рождает новые сюжеты. Места, связанные с событиями, описанными в «Донских рассказах», «Тихом Доне», «Поднятой целине»,  входят в зону охраняемого ландшафта музея-заповедника. Здесь расположены шесть памятников природы - дуб-великан, Антиповский бор, Шолоховские озера, урочища Островное, Паники, Ольшаники (Черня). Флора и фауна очень разнообразны: насчитываются более 1500 видов и вариаций растений, 269 - грибов, более 2700 - животных. Выявлено значительное число видов, включённых в Красные книги Российской Федерации и Ростовской области.

Любимое место писателя - урочище Островное. Здесь чистая вода, обилие рыбы, множество водоплавающих птиц. Шолохов часто бывал в этих местах, черпая вдохновение, и на страницах «Тихого Дона» мы узнаём Калмыцкий брод, озеро Рассохово,   Горелый лес, Алёшкин перелесок, Девичью поляну, которые расположены на территории урочища. Здесь Михаил Александрович рыбалил и охотился, сюда часто привозил полюбоваться красотой природы своих гостей. Бывали у озера писатели Чарльз Сноу, Мартти Ларни, первый космонавт Юрий Гагарин и многие другие известные люди.

Среди уголков природы, особо любимых писателем, - живописное, глубоководное озеро Старое. Здесь Шолохов часто рыбалил со своими друзьями и гостями. Писатель добился того, чтобы все пойменные озёра были включены в систему особо охраняемых природных территорий.  В народе озёра называют Шолоховскими. Озера являются местообитанием эндемика Европы – русской выхухоли, занесенной в Красные книги России и Ростовской области. 

Любил Михаил Александрович полюбоваться Доном, необозримыми просторами Верхнедонья с сорокаметровой высоты Лебяжьего яра, находящегося в 12 км восточнее Вёшенской. Это величавый изгиб русла Дона и возвышающийся над ним песчаный обрыв – крутояр. За рекой видны пойменные леса и Белые горы – меловые кручи. На Лебяжьем яру бывали многие именитые гости писателя. В 2005 году отсюда любовался тихим Доном Президент Российской Федерации В. Путин, посетивший Вёшенскую в столетний юбилей М.А. Шолохова.

Уникален вёшенский дуб-великан, которому  более 400 лет. Это настоящий донской лесной «атаман», свидетель событий со времён царствования Ивана Грозного. Обхватить его ствол могут, взявшись за руки, не менее четырёх взрослых человек. Рядом растут ещё два дуба, все они – остатки древней аренной дубравы. 

Ещё одно из примечательных мест – мощный родник Отрог, который не замерзает даже в зимнюю стужу. На Крещение и на день Святой Троицы казаки совершают к источнику крестный ход.

Каждый уголок Верхнедонья красив по-своему. Посетив шолоховский край, вы увидите лазоревую весеннюю степь, молчаливые курганы, бескрайний простор, открывающийся с высоких обрывов, величавое течение батюшки-Дона. Вы откроете для себя уникальный Роман под открытым небом, музей, где экспозицией стала сама природа донского края, которую воспел в своих произведениях М.А. Шолохов.