Poll

Which topic do you think is under represented on our site? Leave your comments and suggestions in the section “Comments and Suggestions”
Museum Collection
Exhibitions
Museum Events
Museum – to Children
Don Cossacks
Natural Monuments
Information for Tourists
View result

Results

Museum Collection
1 (11%)
Exhibitions
1 (11%)
Museum Events
1 (11%)
Museum – to Children
1 (11%)
Don Cossacks
2 (22%)
Natural Monuments
1 (11%)
Information for Tourists
2 (22%)
Polls archive

Cossack Cuisine

Cossacks honour their forefathers’ precept: “The way with a spoon, the way with a sabre”. The lines in the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don”  read: “On holidays they had substantial and big meals. Meat cabbage soup (shci) with mutton was followed by noodle, then boiled mutton or chicken meat, jellied meat from mutton legs, fried potatoes, millet porridge buttered, rye gruel with dry fruit, pancakes with “kaimak” – boiled cream, salt watermelon.

During their raids in Turkey and Persia, the military service in different parts of the world, Cossacks picked  up the customs of the European, Caucasian and oriental culture, including cuisine culture, and brought them to the Don. The menu in a Cossack “kuren” was various in all times.

The table was crammed with viands, when Cossacks were welcomed on homecoming after their marches or when dear guests were received in Cossack kurens. The table was served with meat, poultry, game, soaked apples, pickles, pies, pancakes seasoned with kaimak and watermelon honey (nardek) and, certainly, famous Don fish: boned sturgeon, Don herring, fish soup (ukha), small  fish fried with onion and egg.

In the Upper Don villages and stanitsas they cook noodle soup on chiken broth, jellied meat of porc heads and legs, baked chicken or duck, noodle pie, pumpkin porridge with raisins, pies with fish, potatoes, rice and chopped boiled eggs, cherry, apples and plums, curd and cherry dumplings various kinds of pastry, doughnuts on sour milk, milk jelly, “vzvar” – stewed fruit.

On the Don there are masters of making hard drinks of many varieties: the one brewed with seven herbs, cherry brandy, nut brandy, apricot brandy, the one “with pepper”.

On “Sholokhov Spring” in the improvised “kurens” (houses) every guest can taste the Don viands: Cossacks are hospitable in treating guests, and the people’s holiday lasts till the dead of night.

Опрос

Просим Вас дать оценку качества работы нашего музея. Свои замечания и пожелания оставляйте в разделе «Отзывы и предложения».
Отлично, все устраивает
В целом хорошо
Удовлетворительно, незначительные недостатки
Плохо, много недостатков
Неудовлетворительно, совершенно не устраивает
Затрудняюсь ответить
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Отлично, все устраивает
222 (72%)
В целом хорошо
48 (15%)
Удовлетворительно, незначительные недостатки
11 (4%)
Плохо, много недостатков
8 (3%)
Неудовлетворительно, совершенно не устраивает
8 (3%)
Затрудняюсь ответить
13 (4%)
Архив опросов

Казачья кухня

Казаки чтут завет своих предков: «Как ложкой, так и шашкой». В «Тихом Доне» мы читаем: «Ели, как всегда по праздникам, сытно и много. Щи  с  бараниной  сменила лапша, потом - варёная баранина,  курятина,  холодец  из  бараньих  ножек, жареная картошка,  пшённая  с  коровьим  маслом  каша,  кулага,  блинцы  с каймаком, солёный арбуз».

Во время "походов за зипунами" в Турцию и Персию, воинской службы в разных уголках мира казаки впитывали обычаи европейской, кавказской и восточной культуры, в том числе и культуры застолья, и привозили их на Дон. Меню в казачьем курене во все времена было разнообразным.   

Стол ломился от яств, когда казаков встречали после походов или ждали желанных гостей, — мясо, птица, дичь, мочёные яблоки, соленья, пироги, блины, заправленные каймаком и арбузным медом (нордеком), и, конечно же, знаменитая донская рыба: балыки осетровые, донская селедочка, щерба (уха), зажаренная с луком и яйцом мелкая рыбёшка.

В верхнедонских хуторах и станицах и сегодня прекрасно готовят лапшу на гусином или курином бульоне, холодец из свиных голов и ножек, запечённую утку или курицу, кулеш, лапшевник, кашу с тыквой и изюмом, пироги с рыбой, пирожки с картошкой, рисом и рублеными яйцами, вишней, яблоками или сливами, вареники с творогом и вишнями, каныши, «орешки» и «витушки» из сладкого теста, пампушки, бурсаки, пышки на кислом молоке, молочный кисель, «взвар» — компот из сушёных яблок, груш и вишни.

Есть на Дону мастера готовить  «дымку», и вам предложат с десяток её разновидностей: настоянную на семи травах, вишнёвку, ореховку, абрикосовку, «с перчиком»…

На празднике «Шолоховская весна» в импровизированных «куренях» каждый может отведать донских разносолов: казаки щедро угощают гостей, и народное гуляние длится до глубокой ночи.