Poll

How do you assess the performance of our website?
excellent
good
satisfactory
bad
View result

Results

excellent
20 (63%)
good
9 (28%)
satisfactory
1 (3%)
bad
2 (6%)
Polls archive

Karghin Memorial and Historic Complex

The Sholokhovs’ House

On moving to Karghinskaya in 1919, the Sholokhovs settled in the house in the suburbs of the stanitsa. It is a typical building for the beginning XX century, characteristic of the Upper Don villages and stanitsas. The walls were made of adobe, the roof was covered with rush.

In the house there is a “seni” (entrance barrack), a kitchen and two rooms. The interior of the 1924-26-s has been reconstructed. The seni (entrance barrack), characteristic of Cossack houses, was used for keeping the house warm in cold seasons. The floor is made of earth. There is no ceiling, so the rushed roof and the rafter system can be seen. The entrance barrack was employed for keeping things seldom used in everyday life, drying herbs, maize, tobacco, guelder rose.

The door of the entrance barrack leads to the kitchen, also earth-floored. Most of the room is occupied by a Russian stove with a stove-bench. By the stove there is a kitchen stock of the cook: oven prongs, a poker, a frying-pan handle, a wooden spade for putting bread into a stove. On the wooden bench near it there is a waterpot for potable water with a lid. By the window there is a wooden table, a wall cupboard for dishwear near it.

In the room of M.A. Sholokhov’s parents there is a wooden bed, a trunk for keeping things. On it, if necessary, they made a bed for sleeping or having a rest. In the front corner there is an icon and icon-lamp. On the table near the window there is a samovar, at which the whole family liked to gather for tea.

The biggest room was called “gornitsa” (a sitting-room) or a hall. Here one can see a wooden bed with figured legs, a chest of drawers, chairs, a rocking cradle, which appeared in the room when the first daughter, Svetlana, was born in February, 1926, to the Sholokhovs’ family. There was also a writing-table with drawers for the young writer. On the table there are books, newspapers, journals, the manuscripts of his early short stories. Not waiting for the mail delivered, Sholokhov went on foot to Stanitsa Bokovskaya, 20 km from the village, to receive information about home and world events.

Living in Stanitsa Karghinskaya Mikhail Alexandrovich kept up literary connections with the Moscow men of letters, published in the newspaper “Molodoy Leninets” (Young Leninist), in the journal of young peasants, in the magazines of “Ogonyok”, “Smena”, “Prozhektor”. In these periodicals his first short stories appeared: “A Shepherd”, “The Shibalkovs’ Kin”, “Nakhalyonok”, “Deadly Enemy”, “Alyoshka’s Heart” and others.

A conception of the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don” was born in Karghinskaya. Here the first pages of the novel “Donshchina” (“Don Country”, the initial title variant of the novel “And Quiet Flows the Don”) appeared. Late in 1926 the Sholokhovs left Karghinskaya for Stanitsa Bukanovskaya.

Опрос

Какие строки романа М. Шолохова «Тихий Дон» вспоминаются Вам чаще?
Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
Посмотреть результаты опроса

Результаты опроса

Мелеховский двор – на самом краю хутора.
254 (40%)
Вёшенская – вся в засыпи желтопесков.
52 (8%)
Родимая степь под низким донским небом!
145 (23%)
За Доном в лесу прижилась тихая, ласковая осень.
76 (12%)
Казакует по родимой степи восточный ветер.
60 (9%)
Омытая ливнем степь дивно зеленела.
54 (8%)
Архив опросов

Каргинский мемориально-исторический комплекс

Дом Шолоховых

Переехав в 1919 году в Каргинскую, Шолоховы поселились в доме на окраине станицы. Это типичная постройка начала XX в., характерная для верхнедонских хуторов и станиц. Стены сложены из самана, камышовая крыша.

В доме – сени, кухня и две комнаты. Обстановка восстановлена на период 1924-26 годов. Характерной особенностью казачьих домов являются сени, которые предназначались для сохранения тепла в холодное время года. Здесь земляные полы. Потолка нет, поэтому просматривается камышовая крыша и стропильная система. В сенях обычно хранили вещи, которые не так часто использовались в обиходе, а также сушили лекарственные травы, кукурузу, табак, калину.

Двери из сеней ведут на кухню, где также был земляной пол. Большую часть этой комнаты занимает русская печь с лежанкой. У печки – инвентарь хозяйки: ухваты, кочерга, чапля, деревянная лопата для посадки хлеба в печь. На деревянной скамье – чугун с крышкой для питьевой воды. У окна – деревянный стол, рядом настенный шкаф для посуды.

В комнате родителей М.А. Шолохова находятся деревянная кровать, сундук для хранения вещей, на котором в случае необходимости стелили постель, спали или просто отдыхали. В переднем углу икона с лампадкой. У окна, на столе, самовар, за которым семья любила собраться за чашкой чая.

Самая большая комната называлась горницей или залом. Здесь мы видим деревянную кровать с точёными ножками, комод, стулья, люльку-качалку (она появилась в этой комнате, когда у Шолоховых родилась в феврале 1926 г. первая дочь Светлана). В этой комнате было и  рабочее место молодого писателя – письменный стол с выдвижными ящиками. На столе книги, газеты, журналы, рукописи ранних рассказов. За газетами, не дожидаясь почты, Шолохов ходил пешком в станицу Боковскую за 20 км, чтобы получить информацию о происходящем в мире и в стране.

Живя в станице Каргинской, Михаил Александрович продолжает поддерживать литературные связи с московскими литераторами, печатается в газете «Молодой ленинец», «Журнале крестьянской молодёжи», «Огоньке», «Смене», «Прожекторе». На страницах этих изданий появляются его рассказы: «Пастух», «Шибалково семя», «Нахалёнок», «Смертный враг», «Алёшкино сердце» и др.

В Каргинской родился замысел «Тихого Дона». Здесь были написаны первые страницы романа «Донщина» (первоначальный вариант «Тихого Дона»). В конце 1926 года семья Шолоховых уезжает из Каргинской в  станицу Букановскую.